Hummus

I’ll bet you there are a thousand ways to make hummus.  I’ve eaten it garnished with cumin, mixed with roasted peppers, and even blended with great northern beans.  I grew up in a home where hummus was a staple and to this day, even my Dad, my husband, and I all have our own variations of this family favorite.  Because I love, love, love lemon, mine is a bit hardy on the citrus but the fun part is that you can adjust the seasoning, the consistency, and even some of the main ingredients to make this dish your very own.  Here is how I, the Arabian queen of this castle, make it.

Here’s What You Will Need:

2 Cans of Garbanzo Beans (15 ounce cans) – don’t drain them yet

1 tsp. Garlic Powder

1 tsp. Salt

2 T. Fresh Lemon Juice (it really does make a difference but don’t feel bad if you use bottled lemon juice – I do it all the time!)

2 Heaping T. of Tahini (this is just sesame paste and can usually be found in the health food section or the the ethnic foods section of the grocery store, and sometimes even over by the peanut butter)

1 tsp. Toasted Sesame Oil, optional

1 T. Dry Parsley

Red Cayenne Pepper, optional

1-2 T. Olive Oil, reserved for drizzling

To your blender or Vita-Mix, add one undrained can of garbanzo beans, one drained can of garbanzo beans, and the tahini.  Blend, blend, blend to your desired consistency.  I like mine smooth but when my husband John makes it, he purposely leaves it a bit chunky.

IMG_5240 IMG_5241

Add the salt, garlic, and lemon juice.  Stop and stir as needed if the mixture gets stuck.  If the finished product is too thick for your preference, add some water, one tablespoon at a time, until the desired consistency is reached.  This will make about 3 cups!

Add the parsley and sesame oil last, blending just long enough to mix it in.

You may certainly serve it in a bowl like a traditional dip but in my family we spread it out on a plate like the one pictured and then drizzle it with oil. If you’re wondering where the parsley is in my finished product, I was out.  Shocking.  So instead, I sprinkled it with red cayenne pepper.

IMG_5248

Add some fresh vegetables, corn chips, or gluten free sesame crackers and you will have a snack or an appetizer that will beat the band.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

